Wow! 2016 Blumey Awards Airs on WTVI All Month!

June 10, 2016 / Blog
By Elise Esasky

The fifth annual Blumenthal Performing Arts High School Musical Theater Awards were a huge hit a couple of weeks ago drawing thousands of people to Belk Theater for another sold-out show. If you missed it, or just want to relive your experience, The Blumey Awards will air on Charlotte’s PBS station (WTVI) several times this summer! PLUS,  a free viewing party is planned for the first air date. Join us at McGlohon Theater at Spirit Square on June 14 at 8 p.m. The Blumey Awards were presented by Wells Fargo.


  • Tuesday, June 14th 8-11 p.m.
  • Saturday, June 18th 5-8 p.m.
  • Sunday, June 19th 2-5 p.m.
  • Sunday, June 26th  4-7 p.m.

The gala award celebration honored winners in 12 categories and nominees for Best Actor, Best Actress and Wells Fargo Best Musical performed live on stage.

img_0599.jpgCFA Academy from Cabarrus County won the Tier 1 Wells Fargo Best Musical Award for their production of Mary Poppins. Central Academy of Technology and Arts from Union County won the Tier 2 Wells Fargo Best Musical Award for their production of Ragtime.  Amina Faye of Central Academy of Technology and Arts won Best Actress for her portrayal of “Sarah” in Ragtime. Justin Rivers of Central Academy of Technology and Arts won Best Actor for his portrayal of “Coalhouse Walker, Jr.” in Ragtime.

Faye and Rivers, the students named Best Actress and Best Actor at The Blumey Awards, will receive an all-expenses-paid trip and weeklong stay in New York City where they will train and compete with other regional winners in the National High School Musical Theater Awards. The national show and ceremony, known as The Jimmy Awards (named after famed Broadway producer, James M. Nederlander), takes place in New York on June 27, 2016.

Eighteen different high schools within the Charlotte region were nominated for Blumey Awards in at least one of the 12 categories, and another nine schools had students recognized in the Top 20 in the Best Actor or Best Actress category. Counties represented included Cabarrus, Catawba, Cleveland, Gaston, Iredell, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Union and York.

Don’t miss the show when it airs on WTVI four times this month!